Hold My Breath

I’ll hold my breath.

I’ll stand pinned
between this rock
and hardest place.

Pushing on both sides
hoping to keep the
balance taut enough
that the world doesn’t
come crashing down.

I’ll hold my breath.

And in this moment
between the first breath
and the next I will keep
this house of cards intact.

If I can keep it
all together and
stop it all from
exploding then
maybe it can be
yesterday again
or at least
this morning.

I’ll hold my breath
as if I hold all the
solutions within
my rib cage which
is cracking under
the pressure but

I’ll hold my breath.

There’s nothing else
I can do and if I can
just hold my breath
the next moment
will never come.
~6/13/17

Standard

Leave a Reply

