No More

I fell in love
with the first man
who ever loved me
because he loved me.

I remember
the day I met him.
It was something
about the eyes.
So kind.

I should
probably regret it
but honestly
I don’t.

I saw everything
he was afraid
to look at and
saw him for
everything he
could be.

I fell in love
with the last man
who ever loved me
because he didn’t
want to love me.

I remember
the day I met him.
It was something
about his voice.
So clear.

He should
probably regret it
but honestly
he won’t.

I heard everything
he was too scared
to hear and heard
everything he
didn’t say.

I knew what
they could
mean to me
and no less
and no more.

So now what
am I looking for?
~5/9/17

Standard

Leave a Reply

