Sweetheart, Let Him Be

There are so
many reasons
why I gave up
on you a long
time ago but
then you said

“I tried
and I messed it up
and I was wondering
if we could
try again?”

I should say no
because it’s a bad idea
because I’ll break your heart
because I have a long list
and you’re last on it…

But the look in your eyes.
The sincerity in your face.
The chance you took when
this moment could have
swept past us unnoticed

has me thinking
“sweetheart, let him be,”
but saying
“you have my number.”

Standard

Leave a Reply

