Left Me

Not long
after we met
I distinctly
remember
lying in bed
and calling up
the feeling of
your arms
around me –
their weight
and the sense
of comfort
they brought.

It meant so much
because it had
been so long
and it is a trick
I utilized until
you left me.

It is harder
for me now
to call up
the physical
but the feeling
of calm still
persists

maybe stronger

because it has
moved deeper.

I don’t hold you
at arm’s length
anymore and
it means so much
because it has
been far too long
and I hope I never
forget how it feels
even after you
have left me.
~9/12/16

Standard

Leave a Reply

