Hold Your Hand

We didn’t share
enough days
on this planet
but we made
the most of them.

And I know
you would
be proud of me
but I would rather
hear you say it
than feel it so
fervently in
my heart.

I would gladly
give up your
memory
if it meant
I could hold
your hand.
~8/8/16

_____

Happy birthday, old man. I know you were worried that I’d need you less the older I got, but damnit if I don’t need you more and more every day. I love you and I miss you and everything means less because you’re not here. I just wanted you to know that.

Standard

Leave a Reply

