Briar Rose

You would
break my heart
if you knew
where to
find it.

It’s hidden away
from men like you
and boys like him.

I am a
briar patch
and you are
no prince
so I will
just sleep
and sleep
and sleep.

I have kissed
too many frogs
for true love’s kiss
to pack much of
a punch anymore
but someday
my prince
will come.

Ironic,
but not too,
with a book
in one hand
and flowers
in the other.

And he will
sit next to me
up in this tower
while we wile
away the hours.

Until then
I will
just sleep
and sleep
and sleep.
~7/25/16

Standard

Leave a Reply

