Hold the Door

I had to
hold the door.

This is what
it feels like
to tear
yourself apart.

Did I want to
run to you?
I did.

Whether to
slap you or
to kiss you
I don’t yet know.

So I had to
hold the door.

To stop myself
from turning away
and slamming it
in your face.

You were standing
there so petrified.

Do I take your
breath away or
are you just
taking your time?

I had to
hold the door.

And you walked
through it and
away from me
and it wasn’t
until you’d gone
that I realized
I’d forgotten
to watch you
walk away.

Did you
look back
hoping I
would still
be standing
there holding
the door or
did you just
let it slam
behind you?
~7/6/16

Standard

2 thoughts on “Hold the Door

Leave a Reply

