All Wrong

It isn’t true,
you know.

When people tell you
all you have to do
is ask for what
you want.

Or that you
just need to
work harder
than anyone
has ever worked
for anything
in their life.

Or that
good things
come to those
who wait
or those
who hustle
or those who
want it more.

I may be
an ocean
underneath
but on the
surface
I am a
simple girl
with manageable,
straightforward desires.

All I want
is to be me
and for that
not to be
layered in
mystique or
leading to some
inevitable conclusion
that was decided
for me long before
I even existed.

All I want
is to be
left alone.

All I want
is to shut
the door
behind me
for awhile
and for you
to be standing
on the right
side of it.
~6/30/16

Standard

Leave a Reply

