Real

They take all my
power away.

And I’d let them
if they gave me
something in return.

You’d be surprised
by the scraps
I can survive on.

All I’ve got is time
All I’ve got is time
All I’ve got is time
And it is wasting away.

God only knows
what kind of person
I would be
if the real world
didn’t catch up to me
as often as it does.

You’d think
I would
land one
once in
awhile.

Isn’t
that so?

The law of averages
being what it is?

All I’ve got is time.
And all I want is
to give it away.

But instead they
take my power
and leave me
with scraps
and a real world
always on my heels.
~6/22/16
_____
All I’ve got is time.

Standard

Leave a Reply

