Us Against Them

Self preservation mode
kicked in pretty quickly
and I got used to filing
away all the things that
I thought and did not
say to you since you
were no longer around
to say them to anyway.

But I never surrendered
to the idea of a world
without you in it and (just
as I knew you would) you
found your way back to me.

The fact that it is still
surprising you is an
added bonus to the
peace your presence
brings me and I will
always throw my head
back laughing at your
surprise that the door
is still standing open.

Waiting for you to come
in and shut out a world
that will never understand
it is us against them and
that we are going to win.
~5/16/16

Standard

Leave a Reply

