Between Desensitized and Overstimulated

The words were there

set out in front of me

exactly what I have
always thought
I was supposed
to say in this moment.

I opened my mouth

almost involuntarily

ready as always
to perpetuate
the lies women tell

because they
think they have
no other choice.

But then I cried.
Oh, I cried.

Clamped my mouth shut
and refused to be that
woman anymore.

A man can be
perfect.
Kind.
Loving.
Giving of
himself in
every way
that there is.

But a woman
will always have

the moment

where she
looks up at him
expecting to see
the face of the man
that treated her
badly to begin with.
The one who taught her
there was no other choice
than to perpetuate the lie.

The question was asked.
But the lie fell apart.
And I fell apart.

But then he gathered
the broken pieces to him.

And he held me

while I cried.

~5/4/16
_____
Shut up, I’m not crying. I just have something in my eye…

“It takes years as a woman to unlearn what you have been taught to be sorry for.” – Amy Poehler

Standard

Leave a Reply

