Year Number Four

Were you ears burning
last night, old man?
(Do ears burn in heaven?)

Easter, so we talked
to your wife and then
inevitably you came up.

Because it’s right
around the corner.
Year number four
without you.

I’m doing it again.
Staring at the photo
I have pinned to the
bookshelf across
the room from me.

Every time my eyes
fall upon it I find
myself spending
minutes having
a conversation
with your ghost.

Year number four
without you.
And if I let myself
think about it
for more than a
few moments it is
day number one
all over again.
~3/28/16

Standard

One thought on “Year Number Four

Leave a Reply

