When Can I Rest?

I wake up wondering
what could have happened.
What dragons must I have slain
in the middle of the night?
And did I succeed, at that?

Will he be waiting for me
when I close my eyes tonight?
Big, and mocking, and always
ready for another round.

I wake up with scars.
They fade in the
morning light
but I know that
when I open my eyes
tomorrow morning
they will be there again.

I climb walls all day
and it seems I spend
all night knocking
them down only to
wake and begin
the process anew.

When can I rest?
What can I say
or do to make
this dragon give
up the ghost.
When can I rest?
~2/11/16

Standard

2 thoughts on “When Can I Rest?

Leave a Reply

