Hold the Door

Why is it that time
scares me so much
less these days than
it ever has before?

I may not be old,
but my actions
can’t be excused
by youth anymore.

But I love the lines
I find on my face
in the mirror
because they mean
that I have made it
further than I ever
thought I would
in bygone days.

I remember the past
but I don’t live there.
I like it so much
better here anyway.

You can come
with me if you
want to, you know.

I’ll hold the door.
~2/3/16
_____
You fascinate me, I admit it. Let me prove useful.

Standard

Leave a Reply

