Hiatus

Really, you don’t
know me at all.
And this is the
best way I know
to prove that
to the largest
amount of people.

I am tired of it.
I don’t want you
to get me wrong
anymore.

Is this the way
I accomplish that?
What a sad indictment
of the world we’ve created.

Protect yourself, he says.
Using a tone that makes
it very clear I have not
done well enough
in this department.

It is solid advice
and therefore
hard to argue.

I am sure he never
asked himself who
it was I needed
protection from.

And I am sure that
this latest lesson
will be lost on him.

But I plan to be
long gone before
he even notices.
~12/18/15

Standard

Leave a Reply

