Hello, December

Hello, December –
I have a surprise.
I’m actually
happy
to see you.

Do you remember
all of those times
in the same way
that I do?

In like an ember
steady
and warm
threatening but
only if mistreated.

You stay
on your side
and I’ll stay
on mine
and history
won’t be
repeated.

Hello, December
I need you to know,
I’ll be here for
every single minute.

So much is coming
so much will go
and so much is
held within it.

This is for us now,
for you and for me
and for once I will
try to forgive you.

For all the things
you’ve taken and
even the promises
you kept
when they did not
mean to you
what I do.
~12/1/15

Standard

Leave a Reply

