I Was Raised By Refugees

The bottom keeps
dropping out of
the pit in my
stomach ‘cause
all I keep thinking is
I was raised
by refugees.

And if I learned
one thing from them
it was not to cry at
the judgements
of the ignorant.

But to stand
and to fight

Yet to run
when you had to

until you found
a place that would
take you in

to start again.

I was raised
by refugees
I was raised
by refugees
I was raised
by refugees.

And the things
they lost
weren’t lost
on me.

I keep myself insulated
in a cosmopolitan cocoon
of rebels for the cause.

Immigrants.
Displaced persons.
Refugees.

You say the words
but do you know
what they mean?

I’m grateful that
we’re already here
because I’m not sure
they’d let us in.

How long has it been, Senator,
since your father stepped
off the boat?

How long has it been?
How much of your soul
do you have to sell to win?

Praise be to god and
may he bless these
united states.

You say the words
but do you know
what they mean?

The scream keeps
catching in the
base of my throat
‘cause all I keep
thinking is
I was raised
by refugees.
~11/17/15
_____
I don’t know if it’s finished, but I really, really, really needed it out of my head…

Standard

Leave a Reply

