Words

I gotta be honest.

There are at least
a hundred things
I’d rather hear
you say than
I love you.

Start with

hello.

With

I’m sorry
I haven’t called.

With

what are you
doing tonight
or tomorrow
or early next week?

Say

I like your hair.

Is that a new dress?

Where have you been
and where are you going
and can I come along, too?

Don’t make excuses or
promises you don’t
intend to keep.

There are at least
a hundred things
I’d rather hear
you say than
I love you.

Start with a question.

Or better yet
with a statement
that does not
require words.
~11/11/15

Standard

Leave a Reply

