Birds

I need to write
something down.
I’m not sure where
the words went but
I do have my suspicions.

They landed
in my upturned hands
as I prayed for
the peace I hope
you can find someday

and they rattled
around in my brain
while I made up stories
of what I will do
the next time
I have you
in arm’s reach

and they argued
with a man who
can’t fight back
as I begged him for
one last goodbye

and I sent them off
into the world like birds
because I have been
calling for you and
you don’t seem to
hear my song.

But right now I need
to write something down.
I need them back and I do
hope that you are the one
to send them home to me.
~11/10/15

Standard

Leave a Reply

