56

It can be an
act of rebellion

a personal revolution

just to live your life.

And anyone
can stand up
strong and proud
against the perceived
enemies at the gates
at any time but that’s
not the kind of war
I’m thinking of.

I’m thinking
of the kind
that forces you
to pull your children
from their beds and
from their homes and
from their very homeland
to trek through the snow
toward an uncertain and
even nonexistent future.

I can complain
every day about
the inconveniences
my life allows me
but I have to stop

especially today

and be grateful
to the people
who risked
so much
with so little
to give me
all these things
I’m always
taking for granted.
~10/23/15
_____
It’s a few days late because I wasn’t sure it was finished.

Standard

Leave a Reply

