Through the Fog

I’m going to spend
the whole day today
not thinking about you.
Just watch me.

I’m not going to think
about the curve of your smile
or the way your hand curves
over my shoulder on its way
to other places.

I’m not going to think
about the pursed lips expression
you shoot at me whenever
I say something you’re
embarrassed by or the way
I loosen those lips in the end.

I’m not going to think
of the way you open
every door and the
small head bow
you make whenever
you do it because
I don’t want to feel
the ghost of your hand
on my back when you
lead me into or out of a room.

I’m not going to think
of the sigh that comes
from deep in your throat
when I look up at you
and smile from the
cocoon I’ve made from
the pit of your arm
where I trace circles
over your shoulders
as my hand makes its way
to other places.

I’m going to spend
the whole day today
not thinking about you.
Just watch me.
~10/13/15
_____
The world was a completely different place when I wrote this poem.

Standard

Leave a Reply

