It Matters

A lonely Thursday night outside
downtown on the patio just like
every night before it and to come:

I told him the story
about how I almost
left here and why
I made the choice
back then to stay for
as long as this place
will have me

and I could tell
he didn’t understand
my choices but I laughed

thinking I wouldn’t be here
and he wouldn’t be there
if I had decided all those
years ago that I could
do better somewhere else.

He opened the door for me,
I let him walk me home and
when I kissed him goodnight
I knew that he might not
understand what it is
I’m still doing here but
he’s glad that I still am.
~8/31/15

Standard

Leave a Reply

