Saving Him

I am an
open wound
live wire
hot mess.

I’ve got a
lump in
my throat
that refuses
to pass and

I am full
to the brim
with emotion.

My arms are
wrapped around
my middle in an
attempt to keep
myself at bay

but I stand here
prostrate before
you, Universe,
and I cannot
help it.

You’ve taken
so much from me
and now we’re
staring at each other
over this battle line

and he stands upon it.

He is the latest conquest.
But he could just as easily
fall on your side as mine.

He looks back at me
helplessly from this
parapet and I transform
from the princess high
to the dragon at the tower
to the shining knight himself.

I will save him.
And saving him
saves me.
~8/6/15

Standard

2 thoughts on “Saving Him

Leave a Reply

