The Start of Something New

The thing that
might save us
could just as easily
ruin us and
I’m not sure we
have the strength
to stop it.

Do you think
I want to feel
this way?
Of course I don’t.
Do you?

You remember
exactly how much
pressure to place

and where

to make my back
bend almost to breaking.

You remember
your annoyance
at my insistence.

You remember
every sound
that has ever
escaped my lips

and you remember
what they looked like
and how they tasted.

But more importantly
you know exactly
what it means
when I turn my back

to try and hide it
when I’m crying.

You know that
I will always
be right here.

And you know that
I will always try
to explain away
this thing that
might save us
because it could
just as easily
ruin us.

And I just don’t know
if we have the strength
to stop it or that we
would choose to if
we found it somewhere
between the end of us and
the start of something new.
~7/17/15

Standard

Leave a Reply

