The Difference

If you’re worried
I didn’t catch
the unasked question
in your voice,
don’t worry.

I heard it.

And I’m pretty sure
if you’d looked
just a little bit closer
or for a moment longer
you would have seen
the answer you were
looking for reflected
in the thrum of my fingers
and the raise of my eyebrow
and the breath caught
in my throat when
I couldn’t even
say goodbye.
~7/1/15
_____

I am cleaning out the file due to poems I left in there prior to leaving on vacation. Some of my favorite, although disconcerting, ones are the poems that I can’t remember writing. That I can’t remember who I was writing them about. When I can’t tell the difference between dreams and reality. Here I submit one such piece.

Standard

Leave a Reply

