Jonah

Do I forget on purpose?
Do I make the choice
to act like I don’t care?
And am I convincing?

This one is hard.
This morning after.

On this one
I don’t know
what to say.

It fades
like the darkness
out the window
and around my heart
when it moves toward you.

I want to swallow
you whole sometimes.
Like you are Jonah
and I am the whale.
Your mission was clear
but so was mine and
we both failed the tasks
that were set out before us.

God is forgiving
but I am not forgiving.
You are not forgiving
nor are you forgiven.

But I forget on purpose.
~6/29/15

Standard

Leave a Reply

