Dear Powers That Be,

I’ll admit, this one snuck up on me.

But that’s ok. I’m more surprised that it’s July already, than I am by anything else.

33. You already know how bowled over I get by another year passing, after spending so many assuming I’d never make it this far. My biggest fear when I started writing this note 365 days ago was that I would fail in every facet of my mission and still be sitting in the same exact spot. Well, let’s review, shall we?

Physically speaking, I’m in a different spot. I did the thing I never thought possible and moved away from the place I have lived all my life (albeit only across the river, but you’d be surprised how much of an effect that has). As a result, I immediately resigned from 2 of the board on which I sit, with another one following last month. Another will come off at the end of the year. There’s still a lot of work to be done in that arena but I’ve made huge strides, finally.

An atomic bomb went off in my work life and I’m still trying to assess the fallout. I am, however, viewing it as the amazing opportunity that it is, and not as a tragedy. I haven’t had to look for a new job in 12 years, and I am very, very nervous. And so far, I’m not doing a very good job. But it’s all going to work out, and I’m trying to make myself ready for it.

I still haven’t fallen in love in the elevator. But it’s getting closer, I know it. A couple of near misses, some shy boys hiding behind work, or family, or whatever it is men hide behind when presented with a head-scratcher of a woman who can’t seem to get over how “herself” she is and will always be. That’s ok. There’s time yet. I appreciate the attention I am already receiving, and am always on the lookout for the woman of my dreams, as well. So there’s that.

Basically, I guess you could say I feel like I am, for the most part, really living my life. Which has always been the real measure, for me, of whether or not I’m doing a decent enough job on this pale blue dot. I could do better. I will try to do better. Please just let me do it.

Regards,

Betsy Rose

Standard

Leave a Reply

