Better You

I didn’t know
what love was
when I agreed
to be your wife
(maybe I still don’t).

But it is obvious
from the way you
look at her that
after all this time
you just might have
gotten it right.

I wish that you
had spoken of me
the way you do
about her and
that someday
I will be loved
by someone
as out loud as
you love her.

I don’t think
I knew what
love was when
I agreed to
be your wife
and maybe
I still don’t.

But I do know
that we didn’t
have it in the end
and I hope that
this time, you do.
~5/18/15
_____
THAT DODGED BULLET FEELING YOU GET WHEN YOU FIND OUT YOUR EX-FIANCEE IS GOING TO HAVE A CHILD!? >wipes forehead<

Standard

Leave a Reply

