Heritage

I can’t pinpoint
exactly when it was
I got so scared.

Or rather
I can’t pinpoint
exactly when it was
that I noticed.

Because I’m sure
it has always
been that way.

I want to apologize.

Say I haven’t been
myself lately.

But the truth is
I don’t know her,
so I can’t be blamed
for not being her.

“It wasn’t always
like this, was it?”
my little sister
asked last night.

And I said, “No.
It’s not the same
as it was then.
But remember –
we’re different, too.”

I lied to her even
as I told the truth
back to myself.

The truth is
it has always
been like this.

But she will always
be the youngest child
and I will always
try to protect her
from the truth

of where she comes from
and where we’re going.
~5/6/15
_____
My little sister usually asks me to write poems inspired by her love life. Not sure she’s gonna like this one! 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

