Daughter

Sometimes I wish I had decided
to have a child, instead.

A daughter
I would raise
to be fierce

as I am in my mind
(yet too timid to be
out loud).

I would love her purposefully.
Teach her so much I don’t know.
Learn from her all the things
no one ever bothered
to learn from me.

She would be a warrior.

And her greatest weapon
would be the questions
I beg her answer.
~5/2/15
_____
Beautiful weather this weekend so I finally had the opportunity to pack up my field bag and head down the street to the park to read books and write poetry. I was reading one of my favorite collections when this fell out of me.

Literally, it scared me so much and made me a little angry, too – that I packed up my bag and left.

I mean, what IS this?

Standard

Leave a Reply

