I Would Have Gone With You

I would have gone with you.

Not out of some sense
of pity or obligation,
but because I know
how dark it is down there.

I know from experience
how much easier it is
with someone there
holding your hand,
even if it’s only for
this small part
of the long race
you won’t complete
until the day you
see her again.

I would have gone with you.

Because someone went with me.
She didn’t have to do it and
she didn’t make it to the end.
But even knowing that, it
would never have stopped me.

I would have gone with you.

Just to be there.
Because you need
someone to be there.
It doesn’t have to be me.
Now, in fact, I don’t
think it should be.

I think I’ve said it before
but maybe you’re finally
ready to hear it.

I would have gone with you.

Anywhere. Anytime.
To any scary place.

I would have gone with you
if only you’d come with me.
~4/29/15

Standard

Leave a Reply

