Daedalus Did

Daedalus did what he
was supposed to do and
it’s important to the telling
of this tale you remember that.

It wasn’t his fault
the people around him
used his skill to suit
their fancies and
it wasn’t his hubris
that ruined the play.

Daedalus did what he
was supposed to do and
all he wanted in the end
was to be left alone with
whatever life he had left.

It wasn’t his fault
the one job he’d
done poorly was
raising Icarus up
so close to the sun.
~3/13/15
_____
When I started writing this poem, I was Daedalus and I was angry about it.
Now that I’m looking at it, completed, I feel a little more like Icarus.
And I’m angry about it.

I guess the thing I’m most angry about is how my fate is wrapped so tightly around another person right now, and he has let me down so far the sea has nothing on me.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Daedalus Did

Leave a Reply

