Asymmetry

In an effort
to tame my
uncharacteristically
large mane today
my fingers brushed
the bumpy callus
my right temple became
post-neurosurgery.

It never ceases
to amaze me
how easily
I can forget
the state I’m in.

I remember thinking
nothing was ever
going to make any
sense again.

That there was
no way I would
ever recognize the
face staring back
from the mirror.

I was always
going to be
broken
swollen
scarred.

For a girl who
never felt whole
in the first place
it’s amazing what
titanium can do
once you add it
and it’s calloused.
~2/25/15
_____
Hey now, it’s been too long since we’ve had a brain surgery poem, don’t you think? I think so.

Good hair day today. Very exciting stuff. Then bam, it’s like “What’s that bump…” Oh, I remember.

THE MOST IMPORTANT MOMENT OF YOUR LIFE WILL SOMEDAY JUST BE ANOTHER MOMENT. HOLD ON.

Standard

Leave a Reply

