Where Have You Been

The voice that
broke in was
timid but I
jumped at it.

Grabbed that word
like the ripest apple
off the highest branch
of the tallest tree
as if I were dying
of starvation.

But I did stop short
to inspect it for worms.
Because a girl can
never be too careful,
you understand.

I can take
care of myself.
So why do I always
find myself standing
underneath this tree
drained of everything
waiting to be filled
back up again by

that voice from
the highest branches

that apple
dripping juice.
~2/2/15

Standard

Leave a Reply

