Every Explorer

I discovered you there.
Pulled you from your
natural habitat,

looked you up and down
claimed you and all
your territory as my own.

I didn’t bother to ask
where you’d been
all my life because
obviously, you didn’t
exist until the moment
I pulled you up and out
and took everything
that used to be yours.
~1/13/15
_____
It snowed all day yesterday. I made soup. But sitting on the couch at the end of the night talking to a friend, sipping a glass of wine, I bemoaned the fact that I hadn’t spent the day writing poetry like I should have done.

I anticipated going to work eventually today, but my boss called at noon and told me to take the day. So I poured another glass of wine, got out my notebook, and I’ve been writing poetry for the last hour solid. I have much more to go, but I feel better. Cheers.

Standard

Leave a Reply

