The Fact Is

claim
as loud
as you like
that you didn’t
do any of it
on purpose
but the fact
remains

you tried
to make
your life
my purpose

and you did
potentially
irreparable
harm so

I’m going to
have to ask
that you
forgive me
while I turn
and run

but stop.

Is that
what you think
of me?

Is that
all I’m good for?

I didn’t expect
to be hit so hard
by it but the
truth is

I spent
so much time
seeing me
through
your eyes
that it’s
no wonder
I can’t
see straight.

I don’t care
that you
didn’t mean it.
or that you
meant well.

The truth is
you’re not sorry.

The fact is
you’re not done.
So forgive me
while I turn
and run.
~1/29/15

Standard

Leave a Reply

