Good On Ya

“I have got
to learn
to say no,”
I said,
turning to him,
rehashing yet another
day of push and pull.

“I won’t do
this again.
No more
push and pull,”
I said,
turning away
knowing I meant
to mean it.

He taught me
that lesson
without ever
meaning to
and better than
I could have
ever learned
on my own.

So now,
when he asks,
“Yes?”
There is
no answer
but “No.”
~1/22/15
_____

We have (had?) an understanding, where he knew that in the end – if he was anything – it was poetry fodder. I hope he doesn’t mind the inspiration used here. And thanks.

Standard

Leave a Reply

