Assignation

I suppose it’s a step up.

Because I usually
wouldn’t be asked
to come into the room
in the first place.

But there are
fifteen people
sitting here.

And yes,
one of them
is me.

But then
there’s the
boss
and his boss
and his boss

and they all
look the same.

There’s the intern
who looks like
his supervisor
who looks like
the guy who is
sitting across
the table trying
to stay awake
next to the other guy
who looks just like him
only maybe a little bit
more alert and

I want to be happy.
Because I was invited.

But when they ask
what I do for a living
all I can say is
“I was the one
who booked this
conference room.”
~1/21/15
_____

Standard

Leave a Reply

