Gal Friday

Truth is
if you’d asked me
12 years ago

where I would
see myself today

I would say – here.

Over the years
I’ve been greeted
with disbelief and
sometimes anger

by people who think
that I am settling for
less than I can get

and I just laugh.

If it wasn’t work they
would call it fun and

anyway, I’m good at it.

I laughed when he said
he can’t remember life
without me because
I can tell when I’m
being winded up
but I can hear
the truth in it, too.

If you’d asked me
12 years ago
where I thought
he would be by now

I would say – here.

But if you asked me if
I thought we would have
gotten here if we hadn’t
done it together then
I would just laugh.

That’s what the woman
who stands behind the
great man does, after all.
~1/15/15
_____

Everybody who is anybody knows who the real boss is around here, anyway. Happy Anniversary to me!

Standard

Leave a Reply

