Dear Powers That Be,

At the beginning of last year I told you I thought it was time to put on some big girl pants.

In a lot of ways, I feel successful in that endeavor. Although, not completely, because when am I ever truly sure in anything, and not waiting for the other shoe to drop?

And yet, I am starting this year feeling confident. Certainly more so than I can ever recall from years past.

2015 promises to be a year rife with change. To be honest, while I felt like 2014 needed to be a year of change, I wasn’t sure it would be. I’m so glad I was wrong. So, onward and upward, eh? I like this ride and I want to stay on it! As for what I’d like this year to bring… I’m hoping to fall in love in the elevator. Or on the street on the way home from work. Or even at the bar on Friday night. Doesn’t matter where, really. I’d just like for it to happen. Not an easy task for a person, I know. Ever harder, at that. But I haven’t given up yet, and I hope you haven’t given up on me yet, either.

As for last years promise of “not holding on to so much so tightly,” I believe I’ve succeeded there as well. Going back through the years, the one thread that weaves its way through all of our correspondence is the lack of balance I find in my life. I just realized, through the process of writing this year end letter, that I am closer to it than I have ever been. Like, really close. As in, nearly there. I’m blowing my own mind…

My new years wish from you last year was that you be gentle. I’m not sure if that’s the word I would use, looking back, but you performed admirably, and I’m grateful. Just be on my side this year, would you, Powers? That’s all I want.

Regards,

Betsy Rose

Standard

Leave a Reply

