Happy Birthday, Old Man

Today, I stood up for myself.
And I found myself wondering
what you would say about it.

(I find myself wondering
what you would say about
many things, pretty often).

I think you’d commend my efforts
but condemn their delivery,
because you’re an old man
and old-fashioned in your views.

But I can hear your voice inside my head,
“Ooooh, ha!” and a clicking tongue,
like before, like always, like everything
I have ever done is cause for amazement.

Today would have been your 85th birthday
and you’re not here and even though you have
been gone for so long now I am still crying
because I want to know what you think about
the woman I’ve become without you.
~8/8/14

Standard

Leave a Reply

