Two Lasting Things

You had the foundation,
the roots and support,
to be whatever you
wanted to be

but fear kept you
from being anything
more than what you
assumed you were
supposed to be.

A tree can’t
be a bird,
after all.

You were weak.

And when
I came
to bloom
I was infected
from the start.

So I grew up
crippled by
the fear that
had eaten at
you forever
and no one
ever taught me

to look beyond
where I stood

to figure out
who I was.

I won’t make excuses for
why it took this long to
gain the strength
to stretch my wings

to realize that
your fear of life
does not define
the meaning
of mine.
~7/17/14

Standard

Leave a Reply

