I Mean Really

Now and then
I catch sight of myself

whether it be in a mirror
or reflected in the face
of someone else

or when I trip over
something I once said
or someone I once loved

and I can’t help thinking
– you’re too big for this
you wanted to stay small

what were you thinking
and how can you stop it
and when will it ever
be enough for you

so that you can be enough
and what would that look like

Then comes the shock
of meeting the eye
of someone who doesn’t
just look, but sees…

I wanted to stay small
but I’m too big and
I can’t help it since
there are some things
you can’t put back
once they’ve been taken.
~7/9/14
_____
It would be sad if it weren’t so damn funny and I can’t help the feeling I’m putting one over on you.

Standard

Leave a Reply

