Androgyny Got the Best of Me

He was gorgeous
or
she was handsome.

I’m not really sure because
I was down the street and
too far gone to grab attention.

I smiled for the rest of the day.

Because that man was gorgeous
or
maybe it was that handsome woman

and the fact that it didn’t matter
that I still wanted to double back,
get down on one knee and propose,
makes me feel better about me and
the increased chance that one day

he will think I’m gorgeous or
she will think I’m handsome.
~5/13/14
_____
Now, historically speaking, I’m a big fan of dating a guy with facial hair or a woman who couldn’t possibly be mistaken for a man. I conform to gender stereotypes in that way. That’s just me.

And then yesterday I was walking home and there was this person walking up the block, just far enough away that I honestly couldn’t tell you whether or not it was a man or a woman, and it took everything in me not to chase them down the street and ask them to spend the rest of their life with me because hellllllllo nurse.

This is an exciting development. 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

