Pat

Some days
I feel like
I could be doing
so much better
doing something else
in some other place
and something
inside me screams
not because I am
better than this
but because
I’m not allowed
to be more
than I am.
~5/12/14
_____
If anyone ever tries to tell you that gender inequality doesn’t exist in the workplace, you just send them my way. Just once I’d like my anger to be justified by years of experience in this firm doing this work, and not brushed aside because I’m like, you know, just being such an overemotional chick about it. Bring that “reassuring” hand anywhere near me and I will tear it off, sir.

Standard

Leave a Reply

