Yet

You said “I don’t know
your body by heart,”
and I smiled, thinking
about the few that
I have memorized
over the years.

She didn’t have
many curves
but I spent hours
running my fingers
over every rise and fall.

He had hands that could
pull me anywhere
storied and callused
and I can still recall
the sensation of being
carried away by them.

You said, “I don’t know
your body by heart,”
and I smiled, knowing
the only appropriate
response is “Yet.”
~4/14/14
_____
It was a good weekend for poetry. That’s what happens when the hibernation ends and you actually leave your tower…

Standard

Leave a Reply

