Follow

I will never be comfortable
with how well you know me
but I will keep on insisting
it’s only because you are
that tuned in and not
that I am so predictable.

More often than not I would
like to strangle you in frustration
but then I turn around and think
how great it is to have someone
who will always call me out and
challenge me to be more
but make no secret of
his stake in the matter.

And I don’t want to remember
what it was like to kiss you
but I admit that sometimes
I just can’t help it
because now and then
you look at me and
it goes right through me –
leaving a handprint on
the small of my back,
the ghost of your touch.
~4/11/14
_____
I’ll tell you a secret. Most of the time I feel incredibly naive. But sometimes, I don’t mind it.

Standard

Leave a Reply

