Cracks

I want to tell you
it’s not right

that it’s not fair

but I’ve been
conditioned long enough
to know that there are

the haves
and the have nots
in this world

and you and I
are staring squarely
at each other
over the line

I want to tell you
it’s not right

that it’s not fair

but those are words
that never made it
into your vocabulary
and you’re too set
in your ways for
me to make
a difference
even after
all this time

I worry about you
sometimes
and I’m not
afraid to admit it

I mean you’ve got
no earthly troubles
at present but before
too long you’ll be
standing up there
in judgement and
while I have a suspicion
I will at least be able to
hold my own I wonder
whether you’ll have a
leg to stand on when
St. Peter comes to call

I know it’s not your job to
make the going easier but
I’d really appreciate it if you
could stop making it so hard.
~2/18/14

Standard

Leave a Reply

