Destiny Got the Best of Me

I woke up
dreaming about
my engagement ring
again

still locked in that
long-forgotten
bottom drawer

and destiny
got the best of me
so I pulled it out
and put it on

it still feels weighty
sodden by
broken promises and
years unspent

someday I will
throw out your letters
delete your messages
throw that ring
in the trash
where it belongs

I don’t remember you
fondly but I do remember
the feel of your eyes on me

so that ring will stay
in the long-forgotten
bottom drawer for
a little while longer
at least

a talisman
against those
who seek to
do me harm

I never would
have believed
that circle of gold
would some day
bring me comfort

but it helps to know
that all things fade
into the background
in due time
~2/10/14
_____
1. Why in god’s name am I still dreaming about my ex-fiancee? 2. Why in god’s name do I still have my engagement ring? 3. What in god’s name possessed me to put it on yesterday? >shivers<

Standard

Leave a Reply

