I Hold These Truths

I may
on occasion
resent my lot
because it is
my right as a
member of the
human race;
naturally spoiled
and sometimes
unreasonable.

I will not
pretend to be
something I’m not
or sit idly by and allow
the world to wash over me.

I know who I am.
I know what I’m for.
I may not like it but
I resigned myself to it
a long time ago and
further still I am
good at what I do.

Everyone is always
trying to define me
or at the very least
tell me I am wrong
and the argument
got old long ago;
the protests seem
monotonous.

If it helps you exist
to think you’ve got
me pegged then it is
the last thing I will
do for you but I need
you to know that
what you think
doesn’t matter
because what you
think you know
is wrong.

I know who I am.
I know what I’m for.
I don’t have to like it
but I accepted it
long ago and anyway
I’m good at it.

Which is more
than I can say
for you.
~2/10/14
_____
I’ve always considered myself to be more self-aware than the people around me. And god knows I whine about my lot. But I know who I am. And I’ve spent too much time being sad that other people look right at or through me and don’t see it. But I see it. And in the end that’s all that matters. Right?

Standard

Leave a Reply

